Skip to content

Scientific Committee

1. Cord Heuer (New Zealand): Chairman of the 2017 ILS Conference, ILS executive member, Professor of Veterinary Epidemiology and Infectious Disease at Massey University, Palmerston North, New Zealand, and Director of the EpiCentre, OIE Collaborating Centre for Veterinary Epidemiology and Public Health at Massey University. He has published over 100 articles on leptospirosis on both humans and animals.

2. David Haake (US): Principal Investigator on this R13 proposal, acting President of the ILS and Professor of Medicine, University of California Los Angeles School of Medicine and the VA Greater Los Angeles Healthcare System. The scientific focus of his work is leptospiral outer membrane proteins and vaccine development. His research in leptospirosis has been continuously funded by the NIH/NIAID since 1991.

3. Colleen Lau (Australia): NHMRC Fellow in the Department of Global Health at the Research School of Population Health, Australia National University, Canberra. She has a particular interest in the eco-epidemiology of leptospirosis, and the impact of global environmental change (including climate change, flooding, population growth, urbanisation, agricultural intensification, and biodiversity loss) on the transmission dynamics of this disease. Her work has included eco-epidemiology studies and risk mapping of leptospirosis in American Samoa, Fiji, and Queensland. She was also engaged as a WHO consultant to help develop Fiji's National Guidelines for Diagnosis and Management of Leptospirosis.

4. Professor Michael Reichel: (Hong Kong) Dean of College of Veterinary Medicine and Life Sciences.  Professor Michael P. Reichel is recognised as a specialist in Veterinary Public Health in Hong Kong (Veterinary Public Health/Food Hygiene and Population Medicine), Australia and New Zealand as well as in Europe and the UK. He is a Fellow of the Australian and New Zealand College of Veterinary Scientists and was most recently awarded a Fellowship of the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons (London) for his Meritorious Contributions to Learning.

5. Claudia Munoz-Zanzi (Chile): Assistant Professor at the University of Minnesota. Her research is. focussed on zoonotic and emerging infectious diseases, international health, simulation modelling, diagnostic epidemiology, and pooled-sample testing for large-scale screening of populations. She has published over 20 papers about the eco-epidemiology of leptospirosis and toxoplasmosis.

6. Peter Wilson (New Zealand): Professor (emeritus) at Massey University, Palmerston North, New Zealand, has led the Deer Research Group for over 25 years, published over 100 papers on leptospirosis and supervised over 30 Ph.D. students. He is a leader in the field of leptospirososis and its control in farm animals and principal investigator of over 30 research grants.

7. Roderick Chapel (Australia): past ILS President and an expert on veterinary leptospirosis and leptospirosis diagnostics. He was a Research Scientist at the Victorian Institute of Animal Science for 26 years and is now at the National Reference Laboratory, a nonprofit organization based in Melbourne, Australia that promotes the quality of tests and testing for infectious diseases globally

8. Ben Adler (Australia): ILS President Elect, and Professor of Microbiology, Monash University, Melbourne, Australia. He is considered among the foremost leptospirosis researchers in the world, having led studies of immunology, genomics, proteomics, biochemistry of Leptospira and leptospirosis for more than 30 years. He has published more than 100 original research papers in the field.

9. Julie Collins-Emerson (New Zealand): Leptospirosis researcher since 25 years and head of laboratory at MEpiLab, Hopkirk Institute, Massey University. She is a founding member of the Massey Leptospirosis Research Group. Her research covers the epidemiology of leptospirosis in livestock, humans, wildlife and the environment as well as diagnostic testing for leptospirosis, which is her particular area of interest. She provides expertise and training both nationally and internationally.

10. Bibiana Brihuega (Argentina): Senior researcher at INTA’s Institute of Pathology in Argentina where leptospirosis is endemic and outbreaks of animal and human leptospirosis occur frequently. Her research develops simple and efficient diagnostic techniques to detect the disease, investigates seroprevalence, detects acute disease foci, and evaluates consequent economic losses and impacts on public health.

11. Mathieu Picardeau (France): Associate Professor and Head of the “Biology of Spirochetes” Unit at the Pasteur Institute in Paris, France and Director of the National Reference Center for Leptospira (WHO Collaborating Center). He has been the leader in development of molecular methods for genetic manipulation of Leptospira species and has published more than 60 papers in the field of leptospirosis.

12. Kathryn Alan (Glasgow):  Her research focusses on exploring the epidemiology of leptospirosis and other zoonotic infections in people and animals in sub-Saharan Africa. Current projects include investigating the role of rodents and livestock in the epidemiology of leptospirosis in northern Tanzania, and exploring patterns of Leptospira infection and diversity in people and animals on a larger scale across the African continent.”